Nominate your favourite archive, record keeping service or recordkeeper for an ARA Excellence Award


19 April 2022
Cupcakes made to celebrate the Central Bank of Ireland’s Record Keeping Service of the Year Award
The Archives and Records Association Excellence Awards return for 2022 after a two-year break due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Nominations are now open for the ARA Excellence Award, celebrating achievements in the recordkeeping sector and highlighting the value of the sector to the public.

Local record offices and public archives ensure our records are kept safe for future generations of historians – and current investigators (whether that is the Windrush enquiry, Infected Blood Enquiry, Investigation into Child Sexual Abuse or Hillsborough). Archives held by businesses, private organisations, charities, schools and individuals contain the rich and diverse history of our culture, many of these organisations also continue to collect, ensuring that our future history is representative of our nations now.


With people now returning to their local record office or archive for personal business or educational research, following the Covid-19 pandemic, the award organisers need the public’s help to encourage nominations for the Record Keeping Service of the Year and Record Keeper of the Year Awards. 

The nomination process is very easy – just a form to fill in and email it to ARA. The last two years have been tough for everyone but our members and other workers in the record keeping sector have kept going, and kept services available for researchers, despite all the restrictions. This is a great opportunity to recognise all that they have done.

Content continues after advertisements

Who can nominate?

Nominations can be made by anyone and you can nominate either a service or an individual recordkeeper (archivist, conservator, records manager) whose exceptional work you think deserves recognition.

There are four award categories: Distinguished Service Award, Record Keeping Service of the Year, Record Keeper of the Year and New Professional of the Year. The latter three categories are decided by a public vote, the Distinguished Service Award is decided by ARA’s board.

How to nominate

Simply visit the awards page on the Archives and Records Association website here.

On this page you will find full information about the 2022 awards as well as past winners, nomination forms, information on criteria and a little bit about the history of the awards. Nominations open on 19 April and run until 1 June. The public vote opens on 8 June and the winner will be announced at ARA’s 2022 Conference in Chester on 1 September.

Content continues after advertisement